Willowbank News and Media« Back to News


Article Date: 17 June 2015

 While providing an exciting and action filled spectacular for more than 35,000 fans recently, the Fuchs Winternationals also saw a flurry of National and Track records broken across a wide range of drag racing classes.

Racers from all over Australia set the highest number of track records in the history of the Fuchs Winternationals during the Queen’s Birthday weekend (4-7 June) at Willowbank Raceway.

The 48 Willowbank track records established during the four-day event beat the previous best haul of 46 track records from the 1997 Winternationals. 

There were also 20 national drag racing records broken, bringing the total of records set to 68, the fourth highest overall number at a Winternationals. There were 75 records set in 1997, 73 in 2010 and 71 in 2008.

The record fest confirms Willowbank’s reputation as the quickest track outside of North America, an honour that has been earned over many years as a result of excellent preparation by the raceway’s team of track surface specialists. 

A list of the national records broken at the event can be found 
here courtesy of the Australian National Drag Racing Association. The track records set at the Fuchs Winternationals were:

Top Alcohol Dragster 
5.504 seconds - Jamie Noonan
261.32mph (420.55km/h) - Jamie Noonan

Top Alcohol Funny Car 
5.422s - John Cannuli
265.80mph (427.76km/h) - John Cannuli

Top Doorslammer 
5.693s - John Zappia
253.37mph (407.76km/h) - John Zappia

Pro Stock 
6.896s - Lee Bektash
198.58mph (319.58km/h) - Lee Bektash

7.287s - Craig Geddes
186.12mph (299.53km/h) - Craig Geddes

E/Dragster Automatic 
7.468s - Wayne Cartledge
176.17mph (283.52km/h) - Wayne Cartledge

EE/Altered Automatic 
174.50mph (280.83km/h) - Darryl Marsh

AA/Funny Car  
5.830s - Greg Clayton
237.75 (382.62km/h) - Greg Clayton

BB/Funny Car Automatic 
6.375s - Alistair McClure
221.16mph (355.92km/h) - Alistair McClure

BB/Gas Automatic 
6.949s - Rob Coleman
195.00mph (313.82km/h) - Rob Coleman

8.248s - Kim Fardella
163.16mph (262.58km/h) - Kim Fardella

B/Altered Production 
7.152s - Rob Nunn
190.83mph (307.11km/h) - Rob Nunn

B/Altered Production Automatic  
7.393s - Clint George

C/Altered Production 
174.96mph (281.57km/h) - Frank Stivala

C/Altered Production Automatic 
7.834s - Steve Norman
173.78mph (279.67km/h) - Steve Norman

DD/Altered Production I Automatic 
7.426s - Jason Payne

RR/Altered Production I  
7.446s - Brett Glover
151.34mph (243.56km/h) - Brett Glover

B/Modified Sedan Automatic 
9.121s - Jim Ioannidis

H/Modified Production 
9.487s - Jai Schluter
134.77mph (216.89km/h) - Jai Schluter

AA/Sport Compact 
6.302s - Scott Porter

BB/Sport Compact 
7.259s - Darren Kehl
195.45mph (314.55km/h) - Darren Kehl

CC/Sport Modified 
7.177s - Michael Baghdadi
183.24mph (294.90km/h) - Michael Baghdadi

AA/Oz Modified 
7.678s - Matt Lisle
193.68mph (311.70km/h) - Matt Lisle

BB/Comp Bike Nitrous 
7.515s - Robert Cassar
171.58mph (276.13km/h) - Robert Cassar

V/Comp Bike 
8.975s - Niki Zakrzewski

DD/Altered Bike 
173.61mph (279.40km/h) - Mick Mundey

B/Altered Bike 
8.221s - Ross Smith
160.65mph (258.54km/h) - Peter Puznik

C/Altered Bike 
8.219s - Blair Pennington

AA/Modified Bike 
7.429s - Kerry Ellis

Willowbank Raceway is Queensland’s premier drag racing facility, located 45 minutes from Brisbane or just a short drive from Ipswich, offering a year-round program of events for the entire family. For more information including a full event calendar, please visit 

« Back To News

Proudly Sanctioned by

Event Results

Event Galleries

Willowbank Shop

Local Weather Forecast